When it comes to the project that I’ve been working on for Senior Capstone, I see the breakdown of the project being very critical. There is a bit of ambiguity in the outcome of some of the elements that come into play. Interviews for example are the main portion of my project. I can’t control what people say. If I did, it would defeat the purpose of where this case study is headed. I can however control other factors of this project. I can control the level of detail and thought I put into designing a package/experience around the uncontrollable elements.

The first task I had to really dig deep and process through was what I wanted to achieve. I looked at the many different aspects of my life and found that “Voice” was something that I had the strongest connection with. Not everyone has found their voice. I wanted to make something that would help in that.

I originally thought I had a solid direction that I wanted my project to go in, but through audience research and a series of written interview questions, I found that I was coming to the wrong solution for an issue that was too vast in nature. Because of these interviews and the process thereafter, the research started to become the project itself. Instead of the message controlling the content, I let the content control the message,

In Noble and Bestley’s Visual Research book, the experimentation phase gives the designer a means to keeping the process alive. One thing that is a bit abstract in my project is the process of measuring how effective the final product will be. After the prototype is complete, the idea of getting a return on the functionality and effectiveness would be part of the implementation phase.

The stakeholders I currently have on my team can only give a small estimated guess of how the general population is going to react to the final product.

 

 

Noble, Ian, and Russell Bestley. Visual Research: An Introduction to Research Methodologies in Graphic Design. Lausanne: AVA, 2005. Print.

